The naughty little duck ~ Naughty nautical and Polka dots

I must say, yes I am guilty of attempting a bad pun using a polish’s name. Sorry, it kind of makes more sense in French (well, for me XD), because instead of “the ugly duckling” he is called naughty, even if the meaning is actually one of ugly πŸ™‚

I originally planned to post yesterday, proud as a duck peacock my “driving exam mani” but, since I miserably failed, it met nail polish remover earlier than planned… And so I decided to drown my sorrows (no, I’m not exagerating, AT ALL 8D) in solvents (and so, I celebrate both failures and success with nail polish :D) and bought myself two new polishes: Naughty Nautical from the 2013 Essie Summer Collection and the already famous (at least on French blogo it seems to be) Polka dots top coat from Gemey Maybelline in its Rain Forest Canopy hue.

Naughty nautical is a blue- duck green -it’s always the same dilemma with teal/turquoise shades, I never know whether I should call them blue which pleases me, or rather green (I have a psychological issue with green, I only appreciate a few polishes of this tint, while with blue, I’m living a love story!) – full of shimmer little glitters (it sparkles !). The application was, as always with Essie’s polishes, perfect, even if I tended to find it slightly thicker than other, but nothing really problematic, it applies really well in two thin coats. Glossy as often and as I love them! I believe this one is my first creme with shimmer in my stash and I wasn’t disappointed, I was a bit worried beforehand vis-Γ -vis this finish, but in the end, it only adds to the shine and luminosity of the color, bonus! As always, no problem with drying time.

Essie - Naughty Nautical (1)

Essie - Naughty Nautical (2)

Essie - Naughty Nautical (3)

Essie - Naughty Nautical (4)

With Rain Forest Canopy, it’s more complicated. It’s a jelly forest green, in which are floating mate black and white glitter, little dots and bigger hexagonal ones. Presented in this way, it seems rather nice. But not on a full many for me. I tried to apply it on a full nail (my right ring finger was a volunteer, what a man!) and I wasn’t convinced… I didn’t manage to apply it properly on my whole nail, resulting in a weird finish, as if I was wearing a bad pastel and not able to pose it (explanation: I have some bald spots, as if I had applied two uneven coats of polish), and so little accumulations of glitter where I had more polish. I went with triangles and that was (at least for me) a way better option, it darkens Naughty Nautical, giving it a little something more which I appreciate. But, once again, be careful to pull rather quickly the tape as it dries rather fast and might start to stretch like plastic wrap (#truestory).

Essie - Naughty Nautical (5)

Essie - Naughty Nautical (7)

Essie - Naughty Nautical (9)

Essie - Naughty Nautical (6)

See you soon for new polish adventures !

Lili ~

Leave a Reply

