Nailstorming #26 ~ Marsala

Today is Sunday and who says Sunday says Nailstorming! This week’s theme? Marsala, this year’s color according to Pantone. All is great and all you’ll say. But in real life, I’m not exactly what you could call a living and speaking color chart (I know, I should have broken the news to you earlier guys!) and I better admit that it didn’t meant much to me before I saw actual pictures. To try and be simple, Marsala it’s almost burgundy. But not exactly, otherwise where would the fun be right? Rather than a profound red, it’s more of a profound brown, and a very much red-leaning to boot. A dark aged pink, brick like. So I probably lost you since long. But all of that was to say: nope, I don’t exactly own anything that could be fully called Marsala. Nope.

Hence, I had to make do with what I had and chose Nails Inc’s Jermyn Street. Apart from its slightly angled brush (probably my bottle’s problem), it flows normally on nails and you get good coverage with two thin coats. It’s an aged pink-brown nude. Okay this doesn’t mean anything. But tell you what, it does somewhat fits Marsala! I hid part of my nails with tape to create burgundy corners using my second winter OPI fav In the Cable Car-pool Lane. I freehanded the rest of the design and made the two dots on my accent nail using China Glaze shimmer burgundy Don’t Make me Wine.

Nailstorming #26 - Marsala (4)

Nailstorming #26 - Marsala (2)

Nailstorming #26 - Marsala (3)

I’m not sure what to think of it, I like the color’s association, I like the design which is almost tribal looking, and at the same time I feel like it’s a bit too much. I didn’t have any precise idea when I started, so the result came bit by bit, hence my lack of faith. I like it, but not 100% I’d say!

See you soon for new polished adventures!

Lili ~

2 thoughts on “Nailstorming #26 ~ Marsala

Leave a Reply

